Blog, Music

Aloha and welcome back to Found Sound (25th set)

This Week Highlight :: West Coast Consortium – Looking Back (The Pye Anthology) & Mr. Umbrella Man (Demos 1967-1969)


These two compilations of lo-fi singles and previously un-released demos are sadly some of the only evidence of the late ’60s British group, West Coast Consortium. A raw, garage-psych outfit at heart, rich with clever melancholy lyrics, strong harmonies and beautiful baroque like string arrangements. Pye records (The Kinks label) producer, Tony Macauley, helped name the project in hopes of highlighting the groups ability to harmonize like The Beach Boys and other West Coast acts of the day. Some of the material was released under the shortened name, Consortium or under the lead singers name, Robbie Fair. Consortium was reassembled and reintroduced in the mid ’70s – a little late for the psych scene and with less of the production notes that make these early singles and demos so endearing.

Looking Back is the perfect title for this collection of charming unpolished gems – over looked and cast aside once upon a time but precious for those curious enough to dig a little deeper. None of these tunes were anything close to hits. But if they had been, the world would have been a better place.

For fans of  The Zombies, Wimple Winch, The Left Banke, The Association, Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti, The Beach Boys and other West Coast psychedelia.

 Listen to the 25th full playlist

1. Pete Dello & Friends – It’s What You’ve Got
2. The Left Banke – I’ve Got Something On My Mind
3. Wimple Winch – Marmalade Hair
4. West Coast Consortium – Oh What A Feeling
5. John’s Children – Love I Thought I’d Found
6. Kevin Ayers – Song For Insane Times
7. West Coast Consortium – Come Into The Warm
8. The Folklords – Pardon Me Judas
9. Billy Nicholls – Come Again
10. All Night Radio – Sad K
11. The Beach Boys – Here Comes The Night / Barnyard

FOUND SOUND is curated by Matthew Correia.